Advisory Council

The department relies on the expertise, experiences, and advice of its advisory council, a group of alumni who are prestigious chemical engineering professionals. The council plays a  key role in helping to shape department policies and procedures in many areas, including curriculum development, accreditation, undergraduate and graduate student affairs, industry engagement, budget, and more.

Amy Determan

Advanced Product Development Specialist, 3M

Christian Edmiston

Vice President, Procurement, Land O’Lakes

Christopher Ellison

Zsolt Rumy Innovation Chair and Department Safety Officer, The University of Minnesota Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

Anna Frey

Plant Manager, General Mills


Matt Kipper

Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering/Associate Dean, Colorado State University


Edward Maginn

Keough-Hesburg Professor, Senior Editor, Journal of Physical Chemistry, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Notre Dame

Mike Pasquariello

Integrated Business Performance Director, Archer Daniels Midland

Jack Starr

Director of Engineering and Data Sciences, Cargill

Jeff Underwood

Vice President Enterprise Innovation, Kent Corporation

Christine Westgate

Production Leader/Site Logistics Leader, Dow Chemical Company

Michael Wilson

Director, Process Engineering, Chevron Renewable Energy Group