Alumni News

ActiveSite 2022 cover Active Site Newsletter – 2022 PDF/
ActiveSite 2021 Cover
Active Site Newsletter – 2021 PDF/


ActiveSite 2020Active Site Newsletter – 2020 PDF/
Active Site 2019
Active Site Newsletter – 2019 PDF/

Active Site 2018
Active Site Newsletter – 2018 PDF/e-mag

ActiveSite 2017 cover art

Active Site Newsletter – 2017 PDF/

Active Site Newsletter – 2016 PDF/e-mag

Newsletter 2015 Cover PS
Active Site Newsletter – 2015 PDF/e-mag

Share your stories! If you or a fellow alum have a story to tell, email Communications Specialist John Burnett-Larkins at with your idea or a link. We’re looking for items that include professional advancements, awards and other accomplishments, links to feature stories, etc.


Michael Brady, ’65 graduate, enters CBE Hall of Fame

Chemical and Biological Engineering chair Andy Hillier is recipient of Baxter endowment (Reginald R. “Barney” Baxter)

Award recipients Vaughn, Kipper are honored by CBE

2016 alumni awards to be conferred at Homecoming (includes CBE alums Vaughn, Kipper)

CBE Hall of Fame to induct ISU alums Brady, Roberts

CBE grad, federal judge Charles Lettow honored as distinguished alumnus

Noted engineer and educator Mark Saltzman enters CBE Hall of Fame

Chemical and Biological Engineering Hall of Fame to welcome alums King, Saltzman

Roberts leads women in engineering


Steffenson professorship elevated to Steffenson Chair for CBE’s Brent Shanks

2015 alumni awards conferred at Homecoming (includes CBE alums Hagenson, Lane)

Surya Mallapragada is inaugural “Carol’s Chair” in Chemical and Biological Engineering (endowment from ISU alum Jack Johnson in memory of CBE alum Carol Vohs Johnson)

Chemical engineering alumna names fellow of the American Society for Engineering Education (Dana Briedis)

Chemical engineering alumnus named dean of Wichita State University Business School (Anand S. Desai)

Three alumni honored with Professional Progress in Engineering Award (includes CBE alums Michael Determan, Venkat Raman)

Chemical and Biological Engineering Hall of Fame welcomes two ISU alums (Cunning, Harper)

Two CBE alums headed for department’s Hall of Fame (Cunning, Harper)


Chemical engineering alumnus elected to the Institute of Medicine (Mark Saltzman)

ISU Alumni Association confers awards at Homecoming (John Kaiser)

A look back at an Iowa State alumnus’s life (Loren Foreman)

Mike Morgan: Chemistry “clicks”

Saltzman of chemical engineering announced as 2014 Mines Medalist

Iowa State student follows in his father’s footsteps on a National Student Exchange program (William Rabe III)


Dursun Can Ozcan (MSChE’10) wins international Honeywell Design Challenge (Honeywell) Tim Anderson (BSChE’73) named dean of School of Engineering at University of Massachusetts-Amherst (UMass Amherst News & Media Relations)


Mary Jane Hagenson (MSBioMedEngr’76, PhDBioMedEngr’80) named to committees under National Academies, National Science Foundation (various sources) Karen Albertson (BSChE’83) awarded Iowa State University Professional Achievement Citation in Engineering (Iowa State University Alumni Association) Deniz Uner (PhDChE’94) awarded Iowa State University Professional Achievement Citation in Engineering (Iowa State University Alumni Association) G. Paul Willhite (BSChE’59) given Society of Petroleum Engineers/American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers Honorary Membership (The Journal of Petroleum Technology, Society of Petroleum Engineers) Chris Ellison (BSChE’00) earns 2012 DuPont Young Professor Award (McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering news, The University of Texas at Austin) Sriram Ganesh (PhDChE ’04) named Keystone Professor at Univ. of Maryland (A. James Clark School of Engineering news, University of Maryland) Gayle Roberts (BSChE’81) exemplified as international engineering role model with Athena Award (Muscatine Journal, Muscatine, Iowa)