Research Funding Awards

“Integrated Education and Research Program in Nanomedicine,” Howard Hughes Medical Institute grant, Dr. Surya Mallapragada. $20,000. Grant ends December 31, 2019.

“Construction of Solar Cells from Colloidal Nanocrystals through Electrophoretic Deposition,” Lawrence Livermore National Security LLC – Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Dr. Matthew Panthani. Total obligated funds $35,000.00. Project period 1/12/18-9/30/18.

“Reactive Metal-Support Interaction Between Metallic Nanoparticles and Two-Dimensional MXene for Catalysing Shale Gas Dehydrogenation,” Iowa State University College of Engineering Exploratory Research Projects, Dr. Yue Wu. $30,000 budget for nine-month period. Project start date 1/1/18.

“High-Performance Catalysis for the Reduction of CO2 and Trash-Derived Gas: Advancing ISRU Technologies to Fuel the Mission to Mars,” National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Dr. Jean-Philippe Tessonnier. Total obligated funds: $110,000.00 (year two of grant). Effective 9/1/16-8/31/18.

“Unraveling Core Design Principles to Explore the World of Nonconventional Yeasts,” Dr. Zengyi Shao, National Science Foundation. Award amount $600,000. Effective 9/1/17-8/31/20.

“Building a Novel Microbial Manufacturing Platform for de novo Synthesis of High-Value Nutraceuticals,” Dr. Zengyi Shao. Regents Innovation Fund Award, $50,000. Effective 7/1/17-5/31/18.

“Continuous Flow Lignin Deconstruction in Supercritical Solvent Mixtures and Conversion to Renewable Chemicals,” National Science Foundation. Dr. Jean-Philippe Tessonnier. Total obligated funds: $300,000.00. Effective 7/1/2017-6/30/2020.

“Alkaline membrane-based ammonia electrolysis with high coulombic effieiency for renewable and scalable liquid-fuel production,” DOE ARPAe (through Wichita State University). Dr. Wenzhen Li. Effective 6/19/2017-6/18/2019. Awarded: $280,000 (ARPAe sub-award, total funding $294,000).

“High rate ammonia synthesis by intermediate temperature solid-state alkaline electrolyzer (ITSAE),” DOE ARPAe (through StoragEnergy Technologies, Inc.). Dr Wenzhen Li. Effective 6/5/2017-12/4/2020. Awarded: $600,000 (ARPAe sub-award, total funding $737,000).

“Biopolymer Development – Pilot Plant Phase III,” Argo Genesis Chemicals, LLC Award #5. Dr. Eric Cochran. Total obligated funds: $2,829,751.00, 7/1/2017-6/30/2018.

Dr. Qun Wang, Pharmaceutical Research & Manufacturers of America (PHRMA Foundation). Total award $100,000. 7/1/2017-6/30/2018.

“Nanocomposites for Next Generation Materials,” Honeywell Federal Manufacturing & Technologies, LLC. Dr. Eric Cochran. Effective 4/6/17- 9/30/17. Awarded this action: $102,999.

U.S. Department of Agriculture grant, through Iowa State University Bioeconomy Institute. Laura Jarboe, effective 2/1/2017. Awarded: $482,905.

“Group IV Quantum Dots For Integrated Photonics,” Air Force Office of Scientific Research. Matthew Panthani, 3/1/2017-2/29/2020. Awarded this action: $119,999.

“Hydroxycinnamic Acids from Lignin as Platform Molecules for Production of Biobased Materials,” Iowa Energy Center grant. Dr. Jean-Philippe Tessonnier, 1/31/2017, $24,672, part of funding for ISU Bioeconomy Institute faculty.

Iowa State University Exploratory Research Program (ERP) grant, Dr. Zengyi Shao, Dec. 12, 2016. For spring and summer 2017 semester.

“Flow Cathode Fuel Cells,” Wisconsin Alumni Research Fund (WARF). Dr. Wenzhen Li, Oct. 11, 2016. Amount awarded this action: $50,000, for period October 11, 2016 — December 31, 2017.

“Safe and convenient chemical purification system,” Iowa State University Regents Innovation Fund. Dr. Eric Cochran, September 1, 2016. Amount awarded: $50,000, for period October 1, 2016 — September 30, 2017.

“High-Performance Catalysts for the Reduction of CO2 and Trash-Delivered Gas: Advancing ISRU Technologies to Fuel the Mission to Mars,” National Aeronautics & Space Administration. Dr. Jean-Philippe Tessonnier, September 1, 2016. Amount awarded this action: $55,000 (9/1/16-8/31/17).

“MRI: Acquisition of Small/Ultra Small/Wide Angle X-ray Scattering for Materials Research,” National Science Foundation. Dr. Eric Cochran, September 9, 2016. Amount awarded this action: $705,037.

“Synthesis and Investigation of Oxygen-Functionalized Mxenes with Ultrahigh Thermal Conductivity,” Department of Defense – Office of Naval Research. Dr. Yue Wu, July 1, 2016. Total amount: $99,998

“Solar Photo Electrolysis of Biorenewable Feedstock to Higher-Valued Chemicals over Non-Precious Dual-Layer Catalysts,” Bailey Research Career Development Award, Iowa State University Office of the Vice President for Research. Dr. Wenzhen Li, June 22, 2016. Total amount: $150,000

“A Pilot Study to Evaluate a Novel Feedback/feedforward Automatic Control Algorithm in its Ability to Substantially Tighten Blood Glucose Concentration,” Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. Dr. Derrick Rollins, June 20, 2016. Amount awarded this action: $96,265

“Integrated Thin-Film Thermoelectric Electrocaloric Cooler,” The Johns Hopkins University Allied Physics Laboratory. Dr, Yue Wu, effective date June 17, 2016. Amount awarded this action: $65,000

“Techno-Economic Analysis of Renewable Electrochemical Systems for 2017 NSF ERC Grant Competition,” Iowa Energy Center. Dr. Mark Mba Wright, Dr. Wenzhen Li, June 8, 2016. Amount: $110,000

“Structure-based design of camel-like human selective mAbs against MMPs in disease,” University of California, Riverside, Dr. Ian Schneider, Dr. Xin Ge. May 18, 2016. Amount funded this action: $54,572

“Polyanhydride Nanoparticles as a Novel Platform Technology for Protective Vaccines in Poultry,” University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Balaji Narasimhan, May 5, 2016. Amount awarded this action: $34,867

“REU Site: Biological Materials and Processes (BioMaP),” National Science Foundation. Dr. Monica Lamm. Dr. Andrew Hillier, May 2. 2016. Amount awarded this action: $352,062